A Pre-K to Grade 12 Independent Quaker Day School Serving the Greater Durham-Chapel Hill Area

2020-2021 All-School Calendar

August 3, Monday

Upper School Athletic Practices Begin

August 12 & 13, Wed & Thurs

New Staff Orientation

August 14, Friday

Summer Programs End

August 17-21, Mon – Fri

Staff Work Week

August 24, Monday

US and MS Orientation Day for New Students
LS Open House
Staff Workday

August 25, Tuesday

SCHOOL BEGINS – Noon Dismissal
(ES – Special conditions for first week)

August 27, Thursday

Middle School Athletic Practices Begin

September 7, Monday

School Closed – Labor Day

September 28, Monday

Fall Weekend - School Closed

October 14, Wednesday

School Closed - Staff Workday

October 15 & 16, Thurs & Fri

School Closed – Parent-Teacher Conferences

October 25, Sunday

Main Campus Open House

November 5, Thursday

School Closed - Staff Development

November 6, Friday

School Closed – Staff Workday

November 25 - 27, Wed - Fri

School Closed Thanksgiving Break

November 30, Monday

School Resumes

December 18, Friday

School Closes at Noon for Winter Break

January 4, Monday

School Closed for Staff Development

January 5, Tuesday

School Resumes

January 18, Monday

Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration–Noon Dismissal
(ES – Special conditions apply)

February 12, Friday

MS/US Staff Workday (ES, LS Open)

February 17, Wednesday

School Closed – Staff Workday

February 18 & 19, Thurs & Fri

School Closed – Parent-Teacher Conferences

March 26, Friday

Grandparents and Family Friends Day
School Closes at Noon – Spring Break

April 5, Monday

School Resumes

April 19, Monday

School Closed for Staff Development

May 7, Friday

ES, LS, MS Closed – Staff Workday (US Open)

May 10, Monday

ES Closed – Optional Parent-Teacher Conferences
(LS, MS, US Open)

May 21, Friday

US Closed – Staff Workday (ES, LS, MS Open)

May 31, Monday

School Closed - Memorial Day

June 11, Friday

School Year Ends at Noon

June 12, Saturday

Meeting for Worship for Graduation – 10:30 AM

June 14-18, Mon – Fri

Staff Work Week

June 21, Monday

Summer Programs Begin

Religious Holidays: We recognize and want to support CFS families and staff who observe various religious holidays. Teachers do their best to accommodate students who miss school for such occasions.

Inclement weather: In the case of bad weather, we support parental decisions to pick up early/keep your child at home. Road conditions vary widely in our area.