A Pre-K to Grade 12 Independent Quaker Day School Serving the Greater Durham-Chapel Hill Area

All-School Calendar 2019-2020

August 1, Thursday Upper School Athletic Practices Begin
August 14 & 15, Wed & Thurs New Staff Orientation
August 16, Friday Summer Programs End
August 19-23, Mon – Fri Staff Work Week
August 25, Sunday All School Community Picnic
August 26, Monday US and MS Orientation Day for New Students
LS Open House
Staff Workday
August 27, Tuesday SCHOOL BEGINS – Noon Dismissal
(ES – Special conditions for first week)
August 29, Thursday Middle School Athletic Practices Begin
September 2, Monday School Closed – Labor Day
September 30, Monday Fall Weekend - School Closed
October 16, Wednesday School Closed - Staff Workday
October 17 & 18, Thurs & Fri School Closed – Parent-Teacher Conferences
October 27, Sunday Main Campus Open House
November 7, Thursday School Closes at Noon for Staff Development
November 8, Friday School Closed – Staff Workday
November 27, Wednesday School Closes at Noon
November 28 & 29, Thurs & Fri School Closed for Thanksgiving Break
December 2, Monday School Resumes
December 20, Friday School Closes at Noon for Winter Break
January 6, Monday School Resumes
January 20, Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration–Noon Dismissal
(ES – Special conditions apply)
February 4, Tuesday School Closes at Noon for Staff Development
February 14, Friday MS/US Staff Workday (ES, LS Open)
February 19, Wednesday School Closed – Staff Workday
February 20 & 21, Thurs & Fri School Closed – Parent-Teacher Conferences
March 27, Friday Grandparents and Family Friends Day
School Closes at Noon – Spring Break
April 6, Monday School Resumes
April 22, Wednesday School Closes at Noon for Staff Development
May 1, Friday ES, LS, MS Closed – Staff Workday (US Open)
May 4, Monday ES Closed – Optional Parent-Teacher Conferences
(LS, MS, US Open)
May 15, Friday US Closed – Staff Workday (ES, LS, MS Open)
May 25, Monday School Closed - Memorial Day
June 5, Friday School Year Ends at Noon
June 7, Sunday Meeting for Worship for Graduation – 10:30 AM
June 8-12, Mon – Fri Staff Work Week
June 15, Monday Summer Programs Begin

Religious Holidays: We recognize and want to support CFS families and staff who observe various religious holidays. Teachers do their best to accommodate students who miss school for such occasions.

Inclement weather: In the case of bad weather, we support parental decisions to pick up early/keep your child at home. Road conditions vary widely in our area.